Greenville, North Carolina DWI Attorney

Driving After Consuming Being Less Than 21

If you are under 21 and are found to be driving with any amount of alcohol or drugs in your system, you will be cited for a provisional DWI (driving after consuming being less than 21 years of age) and can be convicted of a Class 2 misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 60 days in county jail. This is actually a separate offense from DWI committed by a person over 21 and carries different penalties. North Carolina has “zero tolerance” laws for drivers under the age of 21. While some states allow a driver under 21 to have up to .02% blood alcohol concentration (BAC), the allowed BAC for underage drivers in North Carolina is 0.0%.

Timothy E. Burch is an experienced DWI defense attorney who is familiar with defending impaired driving charges committed by drivers under the age of 21. Attorney Burch understands North Carolina’s specific laws for underage drivers as they relate to charges for DWI, as well as what defenses are allowed and are likely to meet with success in the courtroom. Burch Law Office is dedicated to helping drivers throughout Greenville, North Carolina and the surrounding areas: Kinston, North Carolina (Lenoir County); Snow Hill, North Carolina (Greene County); Washington, North Carolina (Beaufort County) and Williamston, North Carolina (Martin County).

Under 21 Impaired Driving Laws in North Carolina

Have you been pulled over for suspected DWI in North Carolina? Are you under 21? If so, many of the same laws apply to you as apply to older drivers. For instance, North Carolina’s Implied Consent Law still applies. This means that your refusal of blood or breath tests to determine your blood alcohol levels can be used against you in court and will result in the immediate suspension of your driver’s license. However, the results of these tests are only valid if the devices used to administer them were approved by the Department of Health and Human Services and if they were conducted properly.

A skilled DWI lawyer will know what errors to look for and how to determine if the tests were administered correctly. If successful, these challenges could result in your blood alcohol evidence being suppressed and even in your case being dismissed. Experienced Greenville DWI lawyer Timothy E. Burch is ready to put his knowledge, skill, and dedication to work for you and is ready to help you with your driving after consuming being less than 21 charge (a.k.a. provisional DWI as found in North Carolina General Statutes 20-138.3).

Have you been arrested or cited for driving after consuming being less than 21 in Greenville, North Carolina or the surrounding areas? Contact Burch Law Office today!

Contact Us Today

Email Us Your Information

Contact Burch Law Office today to receive your free initial consultation.

Name:
Email:
Phone:
Message:

Meet Our Team

Our Attorneys

Timothy E. Burch is an experienced trial attorney who has litigated in excess of 150 jury trials in civil cases.

Mark D. Stewart has prosecuted thousands of cases for the state of North Carolina; he utilizes this experience to serve clients today.

Read Attorney Profiles

Why Choose Us?

  • Prompt & professional
  • We fight every fight
  • 100% satisfaction guaranteed
  • Over 24 years of experience
  • Highly reccomended by past clients