Greenville DWI Defense Attorney

DWI Penalties in Greenville, North Carolina

Every state has its own guidelines for the sentencing and penalties for DWI (driving while impaired), driving while intoxicated, or DUI (driving under the influence). In North Carolina, DWI penalties are divided into 5 levels, depending upon many different factors which will determine the gravity of the offense. If arrested for DWI, your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and your previous driving record will play a big part in which level of DWI charge you will face.

Greenville DWI lawyer Timothy E. Burch is experienced in dealing with DWI charges and understands how to get you eligible for the lowest level of punishment if convicted. Attorney Burch also knows which strategies are likely to work in order to have evidence suppressed, witness testimony discounted and possibly have your case dismissed altogether.

North Carolina DWI Penalties

In North Carolina, if arrested for driving while impaired you will be charged with a certain DWI as classified in North Carolina General Statutes, Section 20-179. Impaired driving offenses are classified into levels, with level one being the most serious and level five being the least serious. You will receive a higher penalty based upon grossly aggravating factors, aggravating factors and the absense of mitigating factors. These are based upon your BAC, prior convictions, whether anyone was injured, if minors under the age of 16 were present, whether your license was revoked, and more. Penalties for DWI are as follows:

  • Level One: fine of up to $4,000, prison sentence of at least 30 days and up to 24 months, and a possible continuous alcohol monitoring system.
  • Level Two: fine of up to $2,000, jail sentence of at least 7 days and up to 12 months, and a possible continuous alcohol monitoring system.
  • Level Three: fine of up to $1,000, jail sentence of 72 hours to 6 months.
  • Level Four: fine of up to $500, jail sentence of 48 hours to 120 days.
  • Level Five: fine of up to $200, jail sentence of 24 hours to 60 days.

As you can see, it is of the utmost importance that you consult a skilled DWI lawyer as soon as possible. It could mean the difference in you being charged with a crime punishable by 2 years in prison or one punishable by a 24 hour sentence. With a skilled lawyer, you also have the chance of avoiding a conviction altogether.

Arrested for driving while impaired? Contact Greenville DWI attorney Timothy E. Burch today!

Contact Us Today

Email Us Your Information

Contact Burch Law Office today to receive your free initial consultation.

Name:
Email:
Phone:
Message:

Meet Our Team

Our Attorneys

Timothy E. Burch is an experienced trial attorney who has litigated in excess of 150 jury trials in civil cases.

Mark D. Stewart has prosecuted thousands of cases for the state of North Carolina; he utilizes this experience to serve clients today.

Read Attorney Profiles

Why Choose Us?

  • Prompt & professional
  • We fight every fight
  • 100% satisfaction guaranteed
  • Over 24 years of experience
  • Highly reccomended by past clients